409 Franklin Street/Bloomfield, NJ 07003 973.680.4500(p)/973.680.1752(f)
A Touch of History
The "Old Joseph Davis House," now the Bloomfield Steak and Seafood House stands as a client monument to the early history of Bloomfield. It is THE OLDEST of the Pre-Revolutionary War homes in town.
The Homestead was built by Thomas Davis in 1676 and remained occupied by this descendants until 1903. The house was built long before the time of cement and yet will likely last 1000 years. The main walls are two feet thick at the base and eight to ten feet thick in the old cellar.
Over the past two centuries, The Davis Homestead has been a farmhouse, hospital, church and restaurant. While occupied by Joseph Davis about the time of the Revolution, the home was a meeting place for founders of the Presbyterian Church of Bloomfield and services were held here for many years before a church was built.
A tunnel in the cellar of the Homestead runs to the foot of Orange Mountain (now Eagle Rock) and was used as an escape for women and children from the British.
A wounded English soldier was taken into the Homestead by the Davis family women and nursed back to health. To show his appreciation, the soldier built the old well and hewed out of stone the basin next to it for the workers to wash. The well curb is now a converted planter near the front entrance.
General Washington and General Knox stopped at the Homestead to inquire the way to Morristown and were entertained for dinner.
There have been but a few transfers of this property since Revolutionary times and if the house could tell tales, an interesting history could no doubt be compiled in connection with its own experience during the Revolutionary War, The War of 1812, our own Civil War and on down to the present.